Welcome to iraf.net Sunday, September 24 2017 @ 04:56 AM GMT


 Forum Index > Help Desk > General IRAF New Topic Post Reply
 wcs for mosaic 3.0
   
prasadh
 07/04/2017 05:47AM (Read 506 times)  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/06/2015
Posts: 8


1.
I am trying to update the WCS for my mosaic images. I followed the document here http://iraf.noao.edu/projects/ccdmosaic/astrometry/astrom.html#physical and Used MSCTPEAK task to make the wcs databse file and updated the WCS for all the images using MSCSETWCS.

I have a better WCS now on images but still little off. I am wondering whether anyone have a WCS .db file for mosaic 3.0 ?

I have used mosaic 1.1 previously and used the supplied wcs .db file in NOAO site . It worked perfectly. But I canít see a wcs database file for MOSAIC 3.0.




2. For some reason MSCGETCATALOG task doesnít work for me. It just provides an empty catalog file. I have used this task when I reduced the data for mosaic 1.1 and it worked fine. I tried it in two machines (in mac and Linux) . But still get the same empty catalog file as the output. ( My plan was to use MSCCMATCH and call MSCGETCAT inside it so that I can improve the WCS )

 
Profile Email
 Quote
valdes
 07/06/2017 06:56PM  
+++++
Active Member

Status: offline


Registered: 11/11/2005
Posts: 725
Hello Prasadh,

Attached is the wcsdb file used by the current Mosaic3 pipeline. Is there some reason you don't want to use the NOAO pipeline reduced data?

Yes mscgetcat has become fragile because it depends on external websites. I asked our local IRAF systems expert and he remembered this discussion on the IRAF forum:

http://iraf.net/forum/viewtopic.php?showtopic=1469342

I tried the suggested fix (for the @noao entries) of replacing references to archive.tuc.noao.edu with r2.sdm.noao.edu in the file catdb.dat in the mscred source directory. You will obviously need to have permission on the file or find someone who does. The location is $iraf/extern/mscred/src/catdb.dat where $iraf is the root of the iraf installation. It should also be possible to use a personal file in your working area but I would have to figure out what would need to be changed to reference it instead.

Yours,
Frank


[Attachment sent by personal mail.]

 
Profile Email
 Quote
prasadh
 07/07/2017 04:38AM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/06/2015
Posts: 8
Hi

I just need to do it myself so that I can learn the process of data reduction. This helps me when I need to use IRAF for data from another telescope.

Thank you . I made the changes you suggested to catdb.dat file and it is working now.


prasadh

 
Profile Email
 Quote
   
Content generated in: 0.07 seconds
New Topic Post Reply

Normal Topic Normal Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Anonymous users can post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content 
dog allergies remedies cialis 20 mg chilblain remedies


Privacy Policy
Terms of Use

User Functions

Login