Welcome to iraf.net Saturday, July 22 2017 @ 04:43 PM GMT


 Forum Index > Help Desk > General IRAF New Topic Post Reply
 receiving a strange "Cannot open file (/tmp//.IMT501)" error
   
cac5280
 02/21/2017 06:30PM (Read 695 times)  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/2016
Posts: 9
I am attempting to run a pipeline written in IRAF, and I keep receiving an error referencing a tmp directory. I'm not sure why I am receiving this error, or how to ameliorate it. The full error is below:

ERROR: Cannot open file (/tmp//.IMT501)
"calctype="real", verbose+, noact-)"
line 74: m2fsdir$m2scatter.cl
called as: `m2scatter (param_filename=cvso727_dec13.input, sctsec_dir=../Sections/, xsctord=7, ysctord=9)'
"m2scatter( param_filename, sctsec_dir, xsctord, ysctord )"
line 35: m2fsdir$m2postcr.cl
called as: `m2postcr (param_filename=cvso727_dec13.input)

Any advice?

 
Profile Email
 Quote
fitz
 02/21/2017 07:09PM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 3965
See the discussion at

http://iraf.net/forum/viewtopic.php?showtopic=1468057

If you still have problems you'll need to post more information about what the script is trying to do, whether it needs an image display, etc. Note that the latest version of DS9 supposedly fixes all the connection problems so updating your DS9 might solve the problem as well.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
cac5280
 02/21/2017 07:55PM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/2016
Posts: 9
I am trying to use ccdproc. I am not trying to open an image. I was trying to download the newest version of ds9, and it will appear in Applications, but when I open it with IRAF, it is still the old version. Is there a way to fix this?

 
Profile Email
 Quote
cac5280
 02/21/2017 07:59PM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/2016
Posts: 9
Now I am receiving the error with .ISM501 instead of .IMT591:

ERROR: Cannot open file (/tmp//.ISM501)
"high_rej=3.0, grow=0)"
line 71: m2fsdir$m2ccdproc.cl
called as: `m2ccdproc (param_filename=oriOB4_dec23.input, bias_dir=../bias1x2/, dork_dir=../dark1x2/)'
"m2ccdproc( param_filename, bias_dir, dark_dir )"
line 28: m2fsdir$m2tocr.cl
called as: `m2tocr (param_filename=oriOB4_dec23.input)

 
Profile Email
 Quote
cac5280
 02/21/2017 08:10PM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/2016
Posts: 9
It seems to switch between .ISM501 and .IMT501.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
cac5280
 02/21/2017 08:19PM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/2016
Posts: 9
Well, it may be running the new version of ds9, but I can't tell because when I try "which ds9" it says "ds9: task not found".

 
Profile Email
 Quote
fitz
 02/21/2017 08:31PM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 3965
I still don't know enough about the particulars of your script to comment specifically, but this could be a case of error messages being overwritten and the real cause is something else. One thing to try would be to do

cl> reset use_new_imt = no

before running your script to bypass the new image template code that sometimes causes problems.

The .ISMxxx and .IMTxxx files are used to communicate with the display server which is assumed to be running before any task tries to use it. The .IMT file is the unix socket used by default but you can explicity use an inet socket by doing

export IMTDEV='inet:5137' (for Bash shells)
setenv IMTDEV inet:5137 (for C-shells)

before logging into IRAF. The use of the unix socket is one of the things previously broken in earlier versions of DS9.

As for the installation, a "which ds9" that doesn't find the command may just indicate a missing directory path or a need to do a 'refresh' to pick up newly installed commands.UDJHCA

 
Profile Email
 Quote
cac5280
 02/21/2017 08:35PM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/2016
Posts: 9
Thank you for your help. When running reset use_new_imt=no it asks me terminal type. Which should I choose?

 
Profile Email
 Quote
cac5280
 02/21/2017 08:39PM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/2016
Posts: 9
Nevermind the previous question. I still seem to be having issues. This is a script to reduce spectroscopic data. This script runs the reduction through cosmic ray removal. It seems to be having problems with ccdproc. The output before the error is:

In m2ccdproc.
b1528c1.fits: Feb 21 15:38 Trim data section is [1:2048,1:1028]
b1528c1.fits: Feb 21 15:38 Overscan section is [2049:2176,1029:1156] with function=minmax
b1528c1.fits: Feb 21 15:38 Zero level correction image is ../bias1x2/bbiasc1.fits
b1528c1.fits: Feb 21 15:38 Dark count correction image is ../dark1x2/bdarkc1.fits with scale=0.3333333

What other information do you need?

 
Profile Email
 Quote
fitz
 02/21/2017 08:41PM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 3965
Do the "reset use_new_imt = no" in the CL, not unix.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
cac5280
 02/21/2017 08:49PM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/2016
Posts: 9
Yes, I realized that shortly after I posted it haha.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
   
Content generated in: 0.49 seconds
New Topic Post Reply

Normal Topic Normal Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Anonymous users can post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content 
dog allergies remedies cialis 20 mg chilblain remedies


Privacy Policy
Terms of Use

User Functions

Login