Welcome to iraf.net Sunday, April 28 2024 @ 03:38 PM GMT


 Forum Index > Help Desk > Systems New Topic Post Reply
 32 bit install path problems
   
dfelli
 05/12/2014 06:26PM (Read 2760 times)  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 05/12/2014
Posts: 7
My installation produces this error
Editing Paths
-------------
Editing the user .login/.cshrc paths ... ./install: line 1006: ((: 0=0 : attempted assignment to non-variable (error token is "=0 ")
*** Cannot
[ OK ]
Editing iraf/imdir/cache paths into system files ... [ OK ]


There seems to be a error in the first line of this code from the .install file 32 bit linux. should it be '==' not '='?

if (( "$err_seen"=0 )); then
DO_FAIL
err_seen=1
err_count=$(( err_count+1 ))
fi
MSG "Cannot find the iraf $file file"
RM $TEMP \$this->_split2($m[0])& /dev/null
fi
done
if (( "$err_seen"==0 )); then
DO_OK
fi

# Edit the $iraf and $imdir paths in mkiraf.*sh, *cl.*sh, and libc/iraf.h
# files.


Before this when I open iraf nothing is responsive. After I change that I get a failure on my installation.

What does my .cshrc need to look like? My current .cshrc is blank

My .cshrc~ looks like this

# Add iraf setup commands
if ( -e /home/dfelli/.iraf/setup.csh ) then
source /home/dfelli/.iraf/setup.csh
endif

 
Profile Email
 Quote
fitz
 05/12/2014 11:51PM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 4040
This bug in the install script was discovered following the last release, a patched install script is available from

ftp://iraf.noao.edu/iraf/v216/support/install

At the point in the script where it is failing the script is attempting to edit the $iraf path into your startup files (e.g. .cshrc/.login if you use a C-shell, and .bashrc/.profile/.bash_profile/.bash_login if you use a Bash shell). If these files don't exist you would see a message but the installation should continue, could you post the error message you're seeing?

The .cshrc file isn't required to pre-exist, and likely won't if you use a Bash shell, but may be created anyway with the basic iraf setup you showed. You can do "echo $SHELL" at the unix prompt to see which shell you are using, likewise do an "echo $iraf" to see if/what the iraf directory is to verify that it is correct. Does the 'cl' command print any sort of error? What directory did you unpack iraf into?

 
Profile Email
 Quote
dfelli
 05/14/2014 05:38PM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 05/12/2014
Posts: 7
That bad line of code is still in the install file is the top directory as of last week. I was using that file (/iraf/iraf/install) instead of the /iraf/iraf//unix/hlib/install.csh file because the install documentation said

%setenv iraf /path/iraf/
% cd $iraf/unix/hlib
% source irafuser.csh
% ./install -n

and './install -n' wasn't found and I didn't see the install.csh file.


furthermore on startup I think my problem was when I started iraf I was patient enough to wait literally 5 minutes for the program to load. not sure why it takes that long. My problem is solved unless you can comment on the long start-up time.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
fitz
 05/14/2014 05:53PM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 4040

A long startup time is sometimes related to something happening in your .cshrc/.bashrc/.profile file, e.g. it's waiting for access to a file on an NFS partition, an rsh/ssh/wget or some other remote command is waiting for a network timeout, etc. You can start the CL by running the $iraf/bin.linux.vocl.e binary directly, e.g.

% setenv arch ".linux" # note the leading dot
% setenv IRAFARCH linux
% $iraf/bin.linux/vocl.e

If this starts immediately then try tracing the 'cl' command itself, i.e.

% sh -x $iraf/unix/hlib/cl.sh

to see where the wait is happening, if there is not output from the CL script right away then the problem is in your startup files somewhere.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
dfelli
 05/14/2014 06:59PM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 05/12/2014
Posts: 7
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Immediately this comes up with typing $iraf/bin.linux/vocal.e or cl
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NOAO/IRAF PC-IRAF Revision 2.16.1 EXPORT Mon Oct 14 21:40:13 MST 2013
This is the EXPORT version of IRAF V2.16 supporting PC systems.


Welcome to IRAF. To list the available commands, type ? or ??. To get
detailed information about a command, type `help '. To run a
command or load a package, type its name. Type `bye' to exit a
package, or `logout' to get out of the CL. Type `news' to find out
what is new in the version of the system you are using.

Visit https://iraf.net if you have questions or to report problems.

------------------------------------------------------------
After a 5 minute wait this comes up below
------------------------------------------------------------


*** Checking update status... Your IRAF system is up to date
*** Initializing SAMP .... No Hub Available

The following commands or packages are currently defined:

dataio. language. obsolete. softools. vo.
dbms. lists. plot. system.
images. noao. proto. utilities.

vocl\$this->_split2($m[0])



-----------------------------------------------------------------
typing sh -x $iraf/unix/hlib/cl.sh prints out a lot of stuff quickly then it goes to

NOAO/IRAF PC-IRAF Revision 2.16.1 ... then a 5minute wait like above
-----------------------------------------------------------------


 
Profile Email
 Quote
fitz
 05/14/2014 07:05PM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 4040

Then it's a networking timeout from the system version checker CHKUPDATE. Even if you're not on a network this should fail immediately but it appears to be trying to connect and then timing out either on your machine or the intervening gateway.

To disable this you can either comment out/delete the call to "chkupdate" in your login.cl file (and the system $iraf/unix/hlib/login.cl) or else once you are logged in set a negative interval parameter value, e.g.

cl\$this->_split2($m[0]) chkupdate.interval = -1

Note that if you don't have a login.cl in the current directory, you'll need to edit the global login file in $HOME/.iraf/login.cl

 
Profile Email
 Quote
   
Content generated in: 0.18 seconds
New Topic Post Reply

Normal Topic Normal Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Anonymous users can post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content 
dog allergies remedies cialis 20 mg chilblain remedies


Privacy Policy
Terms of Use

User Functions

Login