Welcome to iraf.net Thursday, April 18 2024 @ 09:12 PM GMT


 Forum Index > Help Desk > Systems New Topic Post Reply
 Increasing apphot magnitude output precision
   
cjburke
 01/22/2008 02:27AM (Read 5586 times)  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 01/21/2008
Posts: 3
Recently, I needed more precision output from the apphot phot task.
I didn't see this posted anywhere yet, so I thought I would add it in case anyone needs it. The default precision for mag is 7.3f and merr is 6.3f. I have increased this to 8.4f and 7.4f for mag and merr. The source file
/iraf/iraf/noao/digiphot/apphot/aplib/apwres2.x
controls the output for the phot task.
Change the original lines in apwres2.x:
[code:1:0a2118ac6b]
define MAG2_NSTR "#N%4tRAPERT%13tSUM%27tAREA%38tFLUX%52tMAG%59tMERR%66t\
PIER%71tPERROR%80t\\\n"
define MAG2_USTR "#U%4tscale%13tcounts%27tpixels%38tcounts%52tmag%59t\
mag%66t##%71tperrors%80t\\\n"
define MAG2_FSTR "#F%4t%%-12.2f%13t%%-14.7g%27t%%-11.7g%38t%%-14.7g%52t\
%%-7.3f%59t%%-6.3f%66t%%-5d%71t%%-9s%80t \n"
define MAG2_WSTR "%4t%-9.2f%-14.7g%-11.7g%-14.7g%-7.3f%-6.3f%-5d%-9.9s\
%79t%2s\n"
[/code:1:0a2118ac6b]
To the followings lines
[code:1:0a2118ac6b]define MAG2_NSTR "#N%4tRAD%12tSUM%26tAREA%37tFLUX%51tMAG%59tMERR%66t\
PIER%71tPERROR%80t\\\n"
define MAG2_USTR "#U%4tscale%12tcounts%26tpixels%37tcounts%51tmag%59t\
mag%66t##%71tperrors%80t\\\n"
define MAG2_FSTR "#F%4t%%-11.2f%12t%%-14.7g%26t%%-11.7g%37t%%-14.7g%51t\
%%-8.4f%59t%%-7.4f%66t%%-5d%71t%%-9s%80t \n"
define MAG2_WSTR "%4t%-8.2f%-14.7g%-11.7g%-14.7g%-8.4f%-7.4f%-5d%-9.9s\
%79t%2s\n"[/code:1:0a2118ac6b]The 'define MAG2_WSTR' is the actual output format descriptor, but the other lines need changing for pdump to work correctly. I also changed the keyword RAPERT to RAD. I don't know if it is a problem, but changing RAPERT may cause other tasks that expect it to be defined may fail. So be careful with that. You will need to recompile the noao package and reinstall it in order for these changes to take effect. The binary noaobin$x_apphot.e is affected by these changes. I applied these changes to IRAF v2.12.2 on macosx irafarch. Hope that is helpful.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
matilde
 01/22/2008 02:27AM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 01/12/2006
Posts: 4
[quote:6879fabda1="cjburke"]Recently, I needed more precision output from the apphot phot task.
[...]
Change the original lines in apwres2.x:
[...]
I applied these changes to IRAF v2.12.2 on macosx irafarch. Hope that is helpful.[/quote:6879fabda1] Hi, we have tried to make the same changes (also to get more precision output from the apphot phot task) in a MacBook Pro with IRAFNET PC-IRAF Revision 2.13-BETA2, but we do not find the apwres2.x file. Has anyone tried (and managed) to do this?
Thanks!Matilde

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
fitz
 01/22/2008 02:27AM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 4040
The file should be accessible from the CL using:[code:1:48a202681b]cl> cd noao$digiphot/apphot/aplib[/code:1:48a202681b]Be sure that after you make the change you reconfigure the NOAO package for development before compiling, i.e. as the 'iraf' user (or with the proper environment):[code:1:48a202681b]
% cd $iraf/noao
% mkpkg -p noao macintel # or 'macosx' for PPC
% mkpkg -p noao -p tables update
[/code:1:48a202681b]-Mike

 
Profile Email
 Quote
matilde
 01/22/2008 02:27AM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 01/12/2006
Posts: 4
Hi, thanks for your answer Mike,
but we have donecl> cd noao$digiphot/apphot/aplib and we go to:
/iraf/iraf/noao/digiphot/apphot/aplib but there are no files there.
We do not find the apwres2.x file in the computer. We also do not know where the other *.x files related to PHOT are. Do you know where could they be?Thanks!
Matilde

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
fitz
 01/22/2008 02:27AM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 4040
It sounds like your system has been stripped of sources. I can't remember whether e.g. the SciSoft distribution does this by default, in most cases it is something done by the site admin after installing the system.For v2.13-beta2 you can get the source tarball fromhttps://iraf.net/ftp/iraf/V2.13-BETA/as.pcix.gen.gzYou would download this and unpack it in the /iraf/iraf directory, however remember that this will overwrite things you may have customized like the hlib$extern.pkg or dev$graphcap file, so back these up before unpacking. If you did use SciSoft, a new version including v2.14 is now out so you might consider upgrading.-Mike

 
Profile Email
 Quote
matilde
 01/22/2008 02:27AM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 01/12/2006
Posts: 4
Hi MIke,> It sounds like your system has been stripped of sources.
Now I understand it.
Thanks a lot for your help and for the address!!
Matilde

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
   
Content generated in: 0.18 seconds
New Topic Post Reply

Normal Topic Normal Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Anonymous users can post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content 
dog allergies remedies cialis 20 mg chilblain remedies


Privacy Policy
Terms of Use

User Functions

Login