Welcome to iraf.net Monday, December 18 2017 @ 12:40 PM GMT


 Forum Index > Help Desk > Systems New Topic Post Reply
 external package configure fails
   
mjdrin
 07/19/2011 07:19AM (Read 5312 times)  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 07/19/2011
Posts: 3
I just installed IRAF V2.15.1a on a MacBook Pro running OS 10.6.8. The install seems to have worked (although I had to force the architecture: "./install -m macintel" as it insisted on looking for macosx).Sadly the external package configure script can't seem to access the repository:
[quote:bde220fba1]mjd@Germain.local% ./configure
Initializing repository data ....
Cannot download repository manifest file, quitting.
Creating system makefile ....
Setup Complete.
cat: .repo_pkgs: No such file or directory[/quote:bde220fba1]...so I can't load the external packages. I'm not sure how to check if this is a firewall problem (on wired internet at a University location) but switched to my iPhone internet connection and got the same problem. Any ideas?

 
Profile Email
 Quote
mjdrin
 07/19/2011 07:19AM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 07/19/2011
Posts: 3
Found a solution myself. I removed the "-A" flag on the ftp command defined in ../util/pkgget.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
fitz
 07/19/2011 07:19AM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 3989
[quote:fbeed85205] (although I had to force the architecture: "./install -m macintel" as it insisted on looking for macosx). [/quote:fbeed85205]A more reliable way to do this is to define the IRAFARCH environment variable to be 'macintel'. If the system is using 'macosx' then it probably means you're using the default 32-bit kernel (i.e. the 'uname -m' command returns 'i386'). You can still use the 64-bit IRAF binaries so long as the IRAFARCH forces the use of the architecture.Removing the '-A' flag from the pkgget script was the right fix. This forces active mode and was required for our old FTP server but is no longer strictly required. If you still have problems, let us know.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
delta_kuadrant
 07/19/2011 07:19AM  
++---
Junior

Status: offline


Registered: 01/26/2008
Posts: 28
hello,I have same problem which is cannot install extern packages using ./configure (same as Topic Starter's problem above). I've tried to edit ../util/pkgget, removing -A flag in line: /usr/bin/ftp -A but the problem still persist. I am using ubuntu 11.10 32 bit../configure command was very slow when 'initializing repository data', and after waiting almost forever, the error message appeared, same as post #1PS: I've tried both using my university network (under proxy) and mobile network but to no avail.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
fitz
 07/19/2011 07:19AM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 3989
The 'ftp -A' thing is only for Mac, since you're using Ubunto I suspect the problem is that you don't have 'wget' installed .....

 
Profile Email
 Quote
delta_kuadrant
 07/19/2011 07:19AM  
++---
Junior

Status: offline


Registered: 01/26/2008
Posts: 28
Dear Sir,thank you for your fast response. wget command is already installed in my ubuntu (/usr/bin/wget) and working perfectly. but still, the problem persists.PJ

 
Profile Email
 Quote
fitz
 07/19/2011 07:19AM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/30/2005
Posts: 3989
I bounced the http server, but if you still have problems please send more information, e.g.[code:1:8a04870005]
% cd $iraf/extern
% csh -x ./configureor % csh -x ../util/pkgget fitsutil
[/code:1:8a04870005]

 
Profile Email
 Quote
delta_kuadrant
 07/19/2011 07:19AM  
++---
Junior

Status: offline


Registered: 01/26/2008
Posts: 28
Hello again,
I did what you suggested earlier, but still to no avail. Error message still came up.
here what I did:
[code:1:f6af88220d]darkstar:~/extern% csh -x ./configure
set irafdir = /iraf/iraf/extern/../util
echo Initializing repository data ....
Initializing repository data ....
/iraf/iraf/extern/../util/pkginit
Cannot download repository manifest file, quitting.
echo Creating system makefile ....
Creating system makefile ....
cat
echo Setup Complete.
Setup Complete.
foreach p ( `cat .repo_pkgs` )
cat .repo_pkgs
cat: .repo_pkgs: No such file or directory
echo echo echo To install packages, use 'ls' to list the currently available
To install packages, use 'ls' to list the currently available
echo packages from the IRAF repository. For each package you wish
packages from the IRAF repository. For each package you wish
echo to install, use the command:
to install, use the command:
echo echo make <pkg>
make <pkg>
echo echo The package will be loaded dynamically the next time you start
The package will be loaded dynamically the next time you start
echo the CL session.
the CL session.
echo echo Use the commmands:
Use the commmands:
echo echo make update # to update pkgs to the latest repository version
make update # to update pkgs to the latest repository version
echo make check # to list available updates
make check # to list available updates
echo make clean # to delete installed all packages
make clean # to delete installed all packages
echo make init # restore to pre-configure state
make init # restore to pre-configure state
echo make <pkg> # to force a re-install of named <pkg>
make <pkg> # to force a re-install of named <pkg>
echo echo exit 0
[/code:1:f6af88220d]

 
Profile Email
 Quote
delta_kuadrant
 07/19/2011 07:19AM  
++---
Junior

Status: offline


Registered: 01/26/2008
Posts: 28
...and here is for another command line which you suggested, sorry for the long post:
[code:1:13887a7fa7]darkstar:~/extern% csh -x ../util/pkgget fitsutil
unset noclobber
onintr cleanup_
unalias cd cp cmp echo ln mv rm sed set grep ls chmod chown pwd touch sort which
unalias ftp wget
setenv path (../util /sbin /usr/sbin /bin /usr/bin /usr/5bin /usr/ucb /etc /usr/etc /usr/local/sbin /usr/local/bin /usr/sbin /usr/bin /sbin /bin /usr/games /usr/local/bin /opt/local/bin /local/bin /home/local/bin)
alias PUT mv -f !*; chown iraf !$
alias BOLD_ON (tput bold)
alias BOLD_OFF (tput sgr0)
alias SO_ON (tput smso)
alias SO_OFF (tput sgr0)
alias DO_OK (echo -n '[ '; BOLD_ON; echo -n ' OK '; BOLD_OFF; echo ' ]')
alias DO_WARN (echo -n '[ '; BOLD_ON; echo -n 'WARN'; BOLD_OFF; echo ' ]')
alias DO_FAIL (echo -n '[ '; SO_ON; echo -n 'FAIL'; SO_OFF; echo ' ]')
alias ERRMSG (echo -n ' ';BOLD_ON;echo -n 'ERROR: ' ;BOLD_OFF; echo !*)
alias WARNING (echo -n ' ';BOLD_ON;echo -n 'WARNING: ';BOLD_OFF; echo !*)
alias NEWLINE (echo '')
set VERSION = `cat ../.version`
cat ../.version
set UNAME=
if ( -e /usr/bin/uname ) then
if ( -e /bin/uname ) then
set uname_cmd = /bin/uname
set UNAME=`/bin/uname | tr '[A-Z]' '[a-z]'`
/bin/uname
tr [A-Z] [a-z]
else
switch ( linux )
set dlcmd = /usr/bin/wget
breaksw
set exec = yes
set verb = no
set url =
while ( fitsutil != )
switch ( fitsutil )
set url = fitsutil
break
if ( fitsutil == ) then
if ( yes == yes ) then
if ( no == yes ) then
if ( no == no ) then
/usr/bin/wget fitsutil
else
if ( no == yes ) then
endif
if ( ! -e fitsutil ) then
if ( no == yes ) then
exit 1
[/code:1:13887a7fa7]

 
Profile Email
 Quote
delta_kuadrant
 07/19/2011 07:19AM  
++---
Junior

Status: offline


Registered: 01/26/2008
Posts: 28
Dear all, especially Mike SmileI think I found the culprit, my university network is using proxy with authentification, so I edit wgetrc (proxy config). Now ./configure is working flawlessly. I'll try it using my 3G network (ofcourse by turning off my proxy), and it should be working tooThank you,PJ

 
Profile Email
 Quote
   
Content generated in: 0.21 seconds
New Topic Post Reply

Normal Topic Normal Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Anonymous users can post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content 
dog allergies remedies cialis 20 mg chilblain remedies


Privacy Policy
Terms of Use

User Functions

Login